Remembering Los Cabos: Part II

As I mentioned in my first post for Remembering Los Cabos, Joe and I are celebrating our first year of marriage – and I am sharing some pictures from our trip to Los Cabos last year.

To be honest, we were so busy planning the wedding, we really didn’t get a chance to put that much effort into planning the honeymoon.  It all turned out well, though!  I feel like we do best when we plan the big parts of the trips, and let the little moments throughout the day just lead themselves.  Its hard to be stuck to an itinerary when you have never been somewhere before, and don’t really know what you want to see.

The towns of Los Cabos, San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas, are fairly accessible by foot or bike.  The first day there, we took a taxi service from our hotel to SJdC and walked around.  I thoroughly enjoyed the music in the taxi which was more vibrant Mariachi-esque versions of American songs, and at one point I heard, “Spanish, Spanish, Spanish, WRECKING BALLLLLL, Spanish, Spanish, Spanish”, because some things just have to stay the same.  We did end up renting a car, at which point I’m pretty sure they were expecting us to haggle the price, and we ignorantly smiled and signed the papers like the Americans we are.

Here are some pictures from our adventures around town. One of my favorite spots was the little town of San Jose del Cabo, which looks much more traditional and is less busy/ touristy than Cabo San Lucas.  We did spend some time in Cabo San Lucas, and the best parts (IMO) are the little streets outside of the tourist area.  It was refreshing to see the local children who were sans tech-addiction playing in the streets.  There were so many great people there, and the food and culture was much more “real”.  The tourist area was fun for a little bit, but it got a little overwhelming with people trying to push souvenirs on you / getting you to go into the restaurants.  We spent one day at one of the local beaches snorkeling and splashing around.  Which – funny story – was the exact same beach that people were trying to get us to buy a tour to just the day before in CSL.  We bought our snorkel gear at the local Wal-Mart (is there any place that doesn’t have Wal-Mart?).  If I ever make it to The Great Barrier Reef, I am going to lose my cool – because I was literally so ecstatic with seeing the beautiful fish in the 3-foot deep water in Cabo.  Otherwise, we really just enjoyed walking around the marinas, looking at boats and enjoying the water (the sweet, sweet natural water).

Enjoy (especially the picture in which I re-enact a scene from the classic The Little Mermaid)

The Happy Outing - Los Cabos

IMG_1435 IMG_1428 IMG_1421 IMG_1368 IMG_1363 IMG_1356 IMG_1206 The Happy Outing - Los Cabos

Leave a comment